Ohio Traffic Laws
Ohio Point System
In Ohio, if you accumulate 12 points within two years, your
driver’s license will be suspended for 6 months. After the 6-month suspension period ends you will be required to complete a remedial driving instruction course, obtain
high-risk (SR22) insurance, and retake a complete driver license examination in
order to reinstate your driving privileges. In 2012, 122,570 drivers received six-point warning letters, and 15,054 drivers received 12-point suspension letters from the Ohio BMV.
If you are caught driving under suspension, the
offense is punishable as a misdemeanor of the first degree. The Court could
impose a jail sentence up to 180 days, and/or fines not more than $1,000.
Look below to find a list of moving violations
contained in Chapter 4511 of the Ohio Revised Code that carry points. There are
other moving and non-moving violations contained in the Ohio Revised Code, and
Ohio Municipal Codes and Ordinance that carry points. Points stay on your driver's record for 3 years. An experienced Ohio traffic ticket attorney may be able to help you keep points off of your driver's license.